A: Planning a cyclo-tour from A – Z

What this series will be about.

I have written quite a number of things on this blog about cyclo-touring, but when chatting with a friend recently, it occurred to me that I don’t have an A to Z on how to actually plan a tour. Given that KJ and I intend to tour a lot more in the future, this could be good as a checklist for us too.

If one is considering touring with a tour operator, it makes the whole process considerably easier as you simply select the tour you like, pay your hard earned cash and go off and enjoy. Some tour operators will take your luggage for you too, which makes the whole thing very easy to manage! The downside of these tours is that you are constrained to travelling with a group and you have no flexibility to chop and change en route.

Morning tea break in a shady forest. It does not get any better than this in my book.

Morning tea break in a shady forest. It does not get any better than this in my book.

KJ and I like to have some flexibility with respect to where we go, but we have been a bit apprehensive about going the full flexible option and camping.

So I am going to provide some guidance on how we have planned previous trips and what we anticipate will be required for a camping tour. If you have cyclo-toured, please feel free to add your advice and opinions in the comments – there are lots of options out there and our approach will not suit everyone. You may have also come across some great gear and ideas that we have not discovered.

I will post a series from A to Z (if I can think of that many things!) which will describe how we go about planning for a cyclo-tour from start to finish. Where I have previous posts that are relevant, I will link back to those and where I find other blogs that have information I have used, I will add them as well.

Exploring villages and towns at a rate that suits you best.

Exploring villages and towns at a rate that suits you best.

Hopefully, if you are considering a tour yourself, this will give you some hints on where to start and how to go about it. Often, the hardest part is getting started.

In the very early stages, getting to your destination (where you wish to tour), figuring out when to go and the big question when you are free touring – where exactly to go are the main questions that need answering. So Part B of the series will start with the first of two of these and Part C will give you some ideas on deciding where exactly to ride.

I hope you will enjoy the series and will add to it if you have information that will be beneficial for other touring folks. I thought of creating an index, but maybe the search function and/or the menu at the top of each page are sufficient.

3 responses to “A: Planning a cyclo-tour from A – Z

  1. Planning is great fun, deciding vaguely where you want to go,what to take or not to take. The actual tour/trip adds a bigger bonus, the bonus of being on the road. I have enjoyed reading your blog, may the wind always be behind you.

    • The planning is good fun, but it’s a lot more enjoyable when you have already done a trip or two and know what to expect!
      I am delighted that you are enjoying my blog! Thanks for your lovely comment!

      • Hi,
        Old structures facinate me, not sure the oldest one I have leant my bike against! Near where I was born is Furness Abbey which is nice, built in The Valley of the Deadly Nightshade..

I would love to hear what you think....

